Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
Page 1
    • MrToads
    • By MrToads 4th Jan 18, 11:20 AM
    • 6 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    MrToads
    • 4th Jan 18, 11:20 AM
    • 4th Jan 18, 11:20 AM
    Looks very scammy to me, tbh with anything like that, from banks or paypal etc, I tend to forward to the spam team. A lot of the time they have a dedicated email for it.

I am not allowed to post links as im a noob here, but the email is
    Hmrc's is; "phishing AT hmrc dot gsi dot gov dot uk"

or google "gov dot uk report-suspicious-emails-websites-phishing" for the main page.

If everyone did that for emails not sure about, it helps HMRC to catch the bad guys.

Also, if it is something very important they always like to follow up a physical letter anyway!

Best
    Joseph
    • Farway
    • By Farway 4th Jan 18, 11:33 AM
    • 6,229 Posts
    • 9,942 Thanks
    Farway
    • 4th Jan 18, 11:33 AM
    • 4th Jan 18, 11:33 AM
    It is an old scam, HMRC never contact anyone to offer a refund

If a refund is due they will automatically adjust your PAYE code
    • HogMan
    • By HogMan 4th Jan 18, 11:40 AM
    • 94 Posts
    • 66 Thanks
    HogMan
    • 4th Jan 18, 11:40 AM
    • 4th Jan 18, 11:40 AM
    Looks dodgy to me. The outlook link is the giveaway.

Last time I had a tax refund the HMRC communicated via post and I then had to log on to the gov.uk website to request it to be processed. Payments are made into your bank account not credited to a card.
    • poppasmurf_bewdley
    • By poppasmurf_bewdley 4th Jan 18, 11:44 AM