Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

    • DaniS
    • By DaniS 6th Jul 17, 8:39 AM
    • 15Posts
    • 118Thanks
    Debt Free For My 2 boys under 2
    • #1
    • 6th Jul 17, 8:39 AM
    Debt Free For My 2 boys under 2 6th Jul 17 at 8:39 AM

    As the title suggests, I am a Mummy to one DS 15 months and another DS who is being delivered via C-section in a couple of weeks.

    I have over the years accumulated a lot of debt, being silly in a previous relationship, consolidating only to then max out cards on quite honestly c**p.

    The realisation that I am 30, with a wonderful OH, soon to be 2 wonderful children and I've beaten cancer has made me want to get rid of this debt, get out of the rental market and lay foundations for my children's future.

    My OH and I have good, well paid jobs but we do have significant outgoings. However at the same time our disposable income could be managed better. I will post a detailed SOA this afternoon once my DS is at the childminders for his settling in session.

    For now, this is a start and a place for me to keep on track and get my thoughts down.

    I look forward to reading some other diaries, they are really inspirational.
Page 1
    • Mummy_bear
    • By Mummy_bear 6th Jul 17, 9:33 AM
    • 302 Posts
    • 1,088 Thanks
    • #2
    • 6th Jul 17, 9:33 AM
    • #2
    • 6th Jul 17, 9:33 AM
    All the best on you debt busting journey and being a mummy to 2 x
    My LBM May 2017, DH LBM July 2017- Total Debt (not Including Mortgage) 37139.86
    6180.08/37139.86 16.64% paid
    • DaniS
    • By DaniS 6th Jul 17, 2:56 PM
    • 15 Posts
    • 118 Thanks
    • #3
    • 6th Jul 17, 2:56 PM
    • #3
    • 6th Jul 17, 2:56 PM
    So here is my current debt situation:

    Tesco CC - 3891.08 (0% until April 2018)
    Nationwide CC - 4852.80 (0% until March 2018)
    Very - 937.20 BNPL December 2017
    Nationwide Loan - 17300.92 36 months to go
    Bank of Mum and Dad - 1900 - Currently paying off at 250 per month

    Total - 28882

    In terms of our finances, OH and I are in well paid jobs but we have significant outgoings. However we have also been so guilty of spending frivolously but I'm beginning to reign it it. I've gone through our income/expenditure and we are in a fortunate position providing my oh earns his bonus each month. If he doesn't, our monthly income drops by around 500. We currently have savings of around 6k but this is to cover off when I am on maternity leave in a couple of weeks as my workplace only pays SMP. Anyhow:

    -895 Rent - 3 bed semi, average price for area
    -540.42 Child Support for OH's daughter (calculated from OH's salary last year, not negotiable)
    -547.45 Loan Repayment
    -250 Repayment to Mum & Dad
    -34.1 OH mobile
    -15 Account Fee
    -12.12 TV License
    -105.97 Sky - reducing package to basic
    -0.79 iCloud Subs
    -40 Toll Road Fees
    -41.12 Water
    -121 Council Tax
    -47.92 Gas
    -63 Electric - paying some arrears
    -22.27 My mobile
    -50 Nationwide CC
    -77 Tesco CC
    -360 Average Fuel Costs
    -300 Food/Baby/Cleaning Bits
    -100 Date Night every other week
    -250 Wedding/Holiday Pot


    We try to save whatever is leftover, but I am determined to get that number closer to 750 and use the extra to pay towards debts.

    We are getting married abroad next year and whilst much of it is paid for, we still have the holiday/honeymoon element to fund so the 250 is a safe number.
    • DaniS
    • By DaniS 7th Jul 17, 10:32 AM
    • 15 Posts
    • 118 Thanks
    • #4
    • 7th Jul 17, 10:32 AM
    • #4
    • 7th Jul 17, 10:32 AM
    Cracking, productive day yesterday and another NSD.

    There did come a point where I really didn't fancy cooking in the heat, but I cracked on and in the end thoroughly enjoyed dinner. As did OH. He also enjoyed a huge slice of the banana bread I made for pudding.

    I should have another NSD today as I've got everything I need for dinner from the freezer. OH & DS will have pasta bake, made with bolognese already cooked. Just need to cook pasta and grate some cheese on the top. I'm going to have gnocchi, with anchovies, pesto and cheese.

    The freezer is really coming down now so I think I should be able to defrost it come Sunday/Monday.

    I've updated my spreadsheets with DD's that have gone out and I'm going to do my meal plan for the next few days after lunch.
    • JoJoC
    • By JoJoC 7th Jul 17, 12:29 PM
    • 1,789 Posts
    • 6,556 Thanks
    • #5
    • 7th Jul 17, 12:29 PM
    • #5
    • 7th Jul 17, 12:29 PM
    Hi there, just wanted to stop by and wish you luck as a fellow mum of 2 boys trying to pay off debts.

    All the best!
    CC1: 4481.14/ 5031.14 (12% paid off, 600) | CC2:3307/ 3807 (14.4% paid off, 550) | Loan: 10,528.20/ 15,792.30((33% paid off, 5,264))

    July debt total: 24,630.44 | New debt total: 18,316.34 | Total debt paid: 6,414.10 (26%)
    *My debt busting and savings diary*
    • Chandelier.
    • By Chandelier. 7th Jul 17, 7:09 PM
    • 626 Posts
    • 1,653 Thanks
    • #6
    • 7th Jul 17, 7:09 PM
    • #6
    • 7th Jul 17, 7:09 PM
    Sounds as if you're doing great and have a good plan in place.

    All the best
    Check out my Diary
    • DaniS
    • By DaniS 12th Jul 17, 1:13 PM
    • 15 Posts
    • 118 Thanks
    • #7
    • 12th Jul 17, 1:13 PM
    • #7
    • 12th Jul 17, 1:13 PM
    So, had a lovely weekend and start to the week. We had some free tickets to Chester zoo, so decided to go on Saturday spur of the moment. It was very busy but we had a great time. And rather MSE, we took a picnic too so a low spend day out.

    Online food shop completed and delivered Monday. It was 80.81 but included things I don't buy week in week out.

    Haven't managed to defrost the freezer yet, but my parents are coming to stay this weekend to help me 'spring clean' before DS2 arrives so that will form part of it.

    Over the moon that DS has settled in with the childminder. The two days per week he starts next week will make a huge difference to him and to me as I can't take him to all the groups and messy play in my rather pregnant state. And as I'm having a planned section, I'll need the extra support when I'm recovering.

    So, PAD's are all up to date as of today. Spreadsheets are up to date and we're on track for the budget I've set this month. Feeling positive today!
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

3,893Posts Today

4,849Users online

Martin's Twitter
  • It's the start of mini MSE's half term. In order to be the best daddy possible, Im stopping work and going off line?

  • RT @shellsince1982: @MartinSLewis thanx to your email I have just saved myself £222 by taking a SIM only deal for £7.50 a month and keeping?

  • Today's Friday twitter poll: An important question, building on yesterday's important discussions: Which is the best bit of the pizza...

  • Follow Martin