Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • MSE Archna
    • By MSE Archna 7th May 13, 10:25 AM
    • 1,874Posts
    • 6,140Thanks
    MSE Archna
    Add your feedback on energy supplier Flow
    • #1
    • 7th May 13, 10:25 AM
    Add your feedback on energy supplier Flow 7th May 13 at 10:25 AM
    This is a feedback thread on energy supplier

    Flow Energy

    Please share your experience with other MoneySavers. Click reply to take part

    • Did you switch go smoothly?
    • Have you had problems since?
    • Is it easy to contact?
    The feedback comes as part of the


    Click reply below to discuss. If you haven!!!8217;t already, join the forum to reply. If you aren!!!8217;t sure how it all works, watch our New to Forum? Intro Guide.
    Last edited by MSE Andrea; 23-10-2014 at 12:47 PM.
    Report inappropriate posts: forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com




Page 13
    • ColinB
    • By ColinB 23rd Nov 17, 8:25 AM
    • 51 Posts
    • 24 Thanks
    ColinB
    Hello,


    Thank you for your response.


    In order to explain why the errors keep occurring on your account you will be required to provide your Flow account number.


    As far as we are aware the issue has been resolved for all of our customers therefore, we will need to investigate this further for you.


    Unfortunately if you are unwilling to provide us with this information we will not be able to assist you.


    If you have any questions, you can call us on: 0800 092 02 02

    Or email: help@flowenergy.uk.com

    We are open Monday to Friday 8:00am until 20:00pm

    Warm regards,


    The Flow team
    Originally posted by Flow Energy
    Dear Flow Rep

    That is a disappointing response. In this forum, you have an opportunity to explain honestly and openly to your customers what is going wrong; if you did so, I am sure that would improve your company's image for forum users. Instead you choose to say things like "... As far as we are aware the issue has been resolved for all of our customers ..." despite statements on here from your customers telling you clearly that the issue has NOT been resolved. That attitude tells me all I need to know in casting my vote in the current MSE poll on customer service and will also feature in any future decision about my energy supplier.

    I have now raised a formal complaint about this issue being ongoing, I'll post on here the outcome of that.
    • frankie
    • By frankie 25th Nov 17, 12:54 PM
    • 688 Posts
    • 272 Thanks
    frankie
    Well, just had the e mail from Flow inviting me to enter my readings so that:
    'this will also ensure you're being charged the right amount for your home energy'

    I have also, as requested attached photos of my meters showing the figures.

    It now remains to be seen if Flow will get their act together and bill the correct amounts.

    Live in hope!
    • Reb16
    • By Reb16 5th Dec 17, 9:28 PM
    • 2 Posts
    • 1 Thanks
    Reb16
    Flow Energy - Serious Issues with Meter Readings
    I switched from OVO, who were excellent, purely down to the fact that I'd be saving a lot of money each month with a new provider. The switch itself didn't seem too bad with the exception that my meter readings weren't initially accepted. I read my meters on a regular basis and also keep a log for my own records so was somewhat surprised to see different readings entered. I emailed Flow Energy and received a reply which didn't really answer my questions plus I got some weird response that they had to send my readings to a third party for them to be verified. Who? Why? How?!

    I went to submit further readings online today (my previous ones were in November) only to find different readings added and the alleged dates being September for gas and ... I kid you not ... 2005 for electric. Seriously WTF!!!

    When stuff like this goes wrong it makes me wonder what else isn't right. I'm all for giving new start-ups a chance but there are only so many hiccups I can put up with. I'm seriously considering paying the exit fees and moving to another provider.
    • ebc
    • By ebc 10th Dec 17, 9:25 AM
    • 83 Posts
    • 483 Thanks
    ebc
    Another month, another FLOW GAS readings failure
    Account 2130 0031 - submitted GAS readings ignored AGAIN!

    Dear FLOW REP - please can you actually explain WHY this problem is still occurring.
    Last month your cust services told me the problem was because I submitted the readings too late in the month to be verified. This month I submitted readings on 21-nov as requested but STILL THEY ARE IGNORED.

    Please can you find out WHY this is still happening after 8 months rather than try and palm us off with the same general excuses.
    • frankie
    • By frankie 10th Dec 17, 2:50 PM
    • 688 Posts
    • 272 Thanks
    frankie
    OMG!! They have got my readings for the 25th November entered.

    Hopefully things will now be correct until I leave on the end of March, the all I will have to do is fight for my credit.
    • ColinB
    • By ColinB 11th Dec 17, 8:20 AM
    • 51 Posts
    • 24 Thanks
    ColinB

    I have now raised a formal complaint about this issue being ongoing, I'll post on here the outcome of that.
    Originally posted by ColinB
    Despite asking several times for an explanation, Flow have not provided that to my satisfaction. To summarise the responses:

    "October’s statement didn’t include the validated read as the read from 25/10 wasn’t sent through MRV/XOSEVE until 09/11. The read from 25/11 has validated OK and will show on November’s statement. In short, though there was a delay in the read's validation last month, the issue looks to have been resolved and your read will appear as it should on the next statement."

    And when I pressed them about why the delay happened, I got this:

    "... the validation process is dependant on a system that is not controlled by Flow but by the third party who hold your meter read history. All that any supplier can do is expect that a customer's read will be validated in time to be used for billing purposes when their regular bill-run takes place."

    Flow are clearly unwilling to provide a proper explanation about this, and prefer to blame some 3rd party (presumably that's "MRV/XOSEVE", whoever or whatever that is). I also note that there is no assurance here that this 3rd party will not affect billing in future.

    However, more positively, my December statement does indeed include the reading I submitted on 25 Nov as they promised. Being slightly cynical about this, I wonder whether my complaint meant that this particular statement got special attention. We'll see what happens next month.
    • ebc
    • By ebc 11th Dec 17, 10:33 AM
    • 83 Posts
    • 483 Thanks
    ebc
    ...is it just me ! :-)
    Glad you two now have correct Gas bills from FLOW.

    Why is my December bill still using estimates for Gas ??
    Acct 2130 0031

    Admittedly the estimates are getting closer to my actual reading as the Nov estimate was 104 units gas used, whereas the Dec bill is only 25 units used so someone is trying to get the estimates closer to actual total
    BUT ITS STILL NOT USING MY GAS READINGS SUBMITTED ON 21-NOV.
    • frankie
    • By frankie 11th Dec 17, 10:54 AM
    • 688 Posts
    • 272 Thanks
    frankie

    "... the validation process is dependant on a system that is not controlled by Flow but by the third party who hold your meter read history. All that any supplier can do is expect that a customer's read will be validated in time to be used for billing purposes when their regular bill-run takes place."

    Flow are clearly unwilling to provide a proper explanation about this, and prefer to blame some 3rd party (presumably that's "MRV/XOSEVE", whoever or whatever that is). I also note that there is no assurance here that this 3rd party will not affect billing in future.
    Originally posted by ColinB

    Reading between the lines it would appear that all energy suppliers use a third party validation company?


    Begs the question, why are there so few complaints from other energy suppliers users in this regard.


    Or perhaps they mean it is only budget suppliers who use this system?


    Can't get an answer from them regarding this.


    Ah well soon be March!
    • ebc
    • By ebc 11th Dec 17, 2:24 PM
    • 83 Posts
    • 483 Thanks
    ebc
    another poor excuse from FLOW
    I complained about this again yesterday and the reply from FLOW today is :

    I have looked at the account and we did receive a meter reading from the 21/11/2017 and for some reason this was not validated by the industry. I believe this is why it was not showing on your statement

    No explanation WHY it was not validated ! which gives me no confidence that it will be right next month either .

  • Flow Energy
    Hello,


    I apologise that you are unhappy with the service you have received.


    The company we use to validate readings is Morrison Data Services. It is an industry standard to get readings validated to ensures that your readings run inline with your previous readings and that we are entering your readings correctly.


    Please can I kindly request that you provide us with your Flow account number via Facebook(https://www.facebook.com/FlowEnergyUK), Twitter (https://twitter.com/FlowEnergy_Help), email or by phone. Once we have received this information we can investigate this further.


    If you have any questions, you can call us on: 0800 092 02 02

    Or email: help@flowenergy.uk.com

    We are open Monday to Friday 8:00am until 20:00pm

    Warm regards,


    The Flow team


    I switched from OVO, who were excellent, purely down to the fact that I'd be saving a lot of money each month with a new provider. The switch itself didn't seem too bad with the exception that my meter readings weren't initially accepted. I read my meters on a regular basis and also keep a log for my own records so was somewhat surprised to see different readings entered. I emailed Flow Energy and received a reply which didn't really answer my questions plus I got some weird response that they had to send my readings to a third party for them to be verified. Who? Why? How?!

    I went to submit further readings online today (my previous ones were in November) only to find different readings added and the alleged dates being September for gas and ... I kid you not ... 2005 for electric. Seriously WTF!!!

    When stuff like this goes wrong it makes me wonder what else isn't right. I'm all for giving new start-ups a chance but there are only so many hiccups I can put up with. I'm seriously considering paying the exit fees and moving to another provider.
    Originally posted by Reb16
    Official Company Representative
    I am the official company representative of Flow Energy. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE
  • Flow Energy
    Hello,


    Thank you for your feedback and for providing your account number.


    I have looked into this for you and I have sent you an email regarding to your issue.


    If you have any questions, you can call us on: 0800 092 02 02

    Or email: help@flowenergy.uk.com

    We are open Monday to Friday 8:00am until 20:00pm

    Warm regards,


    The Flow team
    Account 2130 0031 - submitted GAS readings ignored AGAIN!

    Dear FLOW REP - please can you actually explain WHY this problem is still occurring.
    Last month your cust services told me the problem was because I submitted the readings too late in the month to be verified. This month I submitted readings on 21-nov as requested but STILL THEY ARE IGNORED.

    Please can you find out WHY this is still happening after 8 months rather than try and palm us off with the same general excuses.
    Originally posted by ebc
    Official Company Representative
    I am the official company representative of Flow Energy. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE
  • Flow Energy
    Hello,


    We are sorry to hear that you are unsatisfied with the service you have received.


    There are industry processes that all energy providers have to follow. This means everyone must send customer readings to a third party agency to be validated.


    If you have any questions, you can call us on: 0800 092 02 02

    Or email: help@flowenergy.uk.com

    We are open Monday to Friday 8:00am until 20:00pm

    Warm regards,


    The Flow team


    Reading between the lines it would appear that all energy suppliers use a third party validation company?


    Begs the question, why are there so few complaints from other energy suppliers users in this regard.


    Or perhaps they mean it is only budget suppliers who use this system?


    Can't get an answer from them regarding this.


    Ah well soon be March!
    Originally posted by frankie
    Official Company Representative
    I am the official company representative of Flow Energy. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE
    • frankie
    • By frankie 12th Dec 17, 3:11 PM
    • 688 Posts
    • 272 Thanks
    frankie
    Just love these useless cut and paste responses
    • ebc
    • By ebc 12th Dec 17, 4:42 PM
    • 83 Posts
    • 483 Thanks
    ebc
    At last a possible explanation of their TERRIBLE billing system...
    Acct 2130 0031 :

    For October I submitted a GAS reading on 31 Oct - apparently ignored because it was too late to validate.
    For November I submitted a GAS reading on 21-Nov as that is when Flow asked me to submit it - that was ignored.
    Now Flow explain that the second reading was ignored because it was within 25 days of the previous reading.

    Am I supposed to keep a calendar of when I submit each reading to make sure that it is not within 25 days of the previous one ?
    Why did Flow email me on 21-Nov asking me to submit a reading when you knew that I was still within 25 days of my last one and that any reading I submitted would be ignored ?
    Why didn't I get a warning when I tried to submit the reading saying that I needed to wait a few more days ?
    Surely your computer system could be amended to take care of this rather than asking each of your customers to keep track of it !!!
    Last edited by ebc; 12-12-2017 at 4:45 PM.
  • Flow Energy
    Hello,


    Thank you for your recent feedback.


    We advise our customer to submit reading 4-5 days before the end of each month as this ensure that the readings are validated and used on your statement.


    The meter read request email that is sent out to our customer is an automated email and we send this out earlier on in the month to give our customer plenty of notice.


    Unfortunately our system isn't able to alert you when you are entering readings within the 25 day timescale however, hopefully this is something we will look into in the future.


    If you have any questions, you can call us on: 0800 092 02 02

    Or email: help@flowenergy.uk.com

    We are open Monday to Friday 8:00am until 20:00pm

    Warm regards,


    The Flow team


    Acct 2130 0031 :

    For October I submitted a GAS reading on 31 Oct - apparently ignored because it was too late to validate.
    For November I submitted a GAS reading on 21-Nov as that is when Flow asked me to submit it - that was ignored.
    Now Flow explain that the second reading was ignored because it was within 25 days of the previous reading.

    Am I supposed to keep a calendar of when I submit each reading to make sure that it is not within 25 days of the previous one ?
    Why did Flow email me on 21-Nov asking me to submit a reading when you knew that I was still within 25 days of my last one and that any reading I submitted would be ignored ?
    Why didn't I get a warning when I tried to submit the reading saying that I needed to wait a few more days ?
    Surely your computer system could be amended to take care of this rather than asking each of your customers to keep track of it !!!
    Originally posted by ebc
    Official Company Representative
    I am the official company representative of Flow Energy. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE
    • Prof Yaffle
    • By Prof Yaffle 9th Feb 18, 11:44 AM
    • 13 Posts
    • 8 Thanks
    Prof Yaffle
    Mixed Experience, Generally "Meh"
    Okay, I've just found this thread, so here are my thoughts after a year+ with Flow.

    Initial switch was painless.

    Gas and electricity comes out of the (metaphorical) taps. No problems there.

    Having to read my meters every month is a pain, bordering on a killer for me as my electricity meter is tricky to read. They appear to want to behave like a smart meter company, but not actually invest in having anything to do with smart meters.

    Statements are slow to produce. You can submit a meter reading and it takes many, many days before anyone does anything at all with it.

    Direct Debits aren't revised often enough - my account is well over a month's payment in credit now, at the coldest time of the year, yet they're still happily taking the full whack from my account every month. That must help with the cashflow.

    Meter reading submission has limited feedback - as others have said, you submit them but they're not recorded immediately, so you have no idea if they've been eaten, lost, recorded, ignored, or used. See my comment above about what this then means for monthly statements, annual usage, DD revisions, or anything else.

    They're okay, and they gave me a decent deal on the MSE special tariff, but I wouldn't recommend them overall - too clunky, too much effort on the customer's part, too little benefit in return.

    EDIT

    Well, I've today seen that this month's statement has appeared - with estimated readings - despite giving them the readings the better part of a week or so ago. I would guess that "give us a meter reading at the end of the month" means "we have an exceptionally small window to use anything you send us, so be nice or we'll ignore you". Not really useful - again, a smart meter approach while relying on the customer to be the smart meter!
    Last edited by Prof Yaffle; 11-02-2018 at 7:20 PM. Reason: Update added
    • Hengus
    • By Hengus 9th Feb 18, 12:21 PM
    • 5,909 Posts
    • 3,643 Thanks
    Hengus
    I struggle to understand how it is that energy suppliers can make something which is so simple, appear so difficult. My gas is supplied by one of the smaller suppliers. Its website states that customers can provide as many meter readings as they like. I give them a reading once a week and receipt is confirmed immediately. My billing date is the last day of each month, so I make sure that I provide a meter reading on that date. My statement appears about 7 working days later and it shows all the readings that I have provided and I am billed on the last meter reading. It follows that the supplier is billing in accordance with its Standard Licence Conditions (SLC) which state:

    Quote: Condition 21B. Billing based on meter readings

    21B.1 If a Customer provides a meter reading to the licensee that the licensee considers reasonably accurate, or if the Gas Meter is read by the licensee, the licensee must take all reasonable steps to reflect the meter reading in the next Bill or statement of account sent to the Customer.

    21B.2 If the licensee considers that a meter reading provided by a Customer is not reasonably accurate, the licensee must take all reasonable steps to contact the Customer to obtain a new meter reading from him. Unquote

    In my book, the SLC reads that there should be no need for billing based on estimated meter readings if the customer provides a reading as requested. I should also add that I was with a supplier last year that played the validation delay game - despite being given an actual meter reading on the billing date. I was never contacted by customer services asking for a new meter reading as required by SLC 21B.2. Bills were always based on estimates. Some battles are worth fighting, some are not: I just 'ditched and switched'.
    • bubieyehyeh
    • By bubieyehyeh 9th Feb 18, 1:08 PM
    • 389 Posts
    • 113 Thanks
    bubieyehyeh
    I wouldn't recommend Flow and I think I'll be switching once the fixed term is up. I've had two issues.

    1) There inability to handle more than 1 gas reading a month, and if you give more than one they don't use any of them and estimate.

    2) Someone is trying to switch my gas, but I didn't request a switch, flow notified me by a "Sorry you leaving Email". I immediately rang them and told them it was erroreous switch that I hadn't requested, they said they would reject it and I assume that would be it. I thought that was good service, maybe they aren't so bad. Since then I've had two phone calls about a week apart from Flow, the person saying I understand your leaving flow, and I've had to explain I'm not all over again. So don't seem to keep records or talk to each other.
    • frankie
    • By frankie 9th Feb 18, 3:17 PM
    • 688 Posts
    • 272 Thanks
    frankie
    I'm one year in and will not be renewing with Flow. I would not recommend them either, for the reasons already stated above regarding readings issues. I too am in significant credit.

    Its put me right off using smaller companies and may revert to using one of the big 6 at the end of March when my mse fix ends.
  • Flow Energy
    Hello,


    We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service you have received and we would like to resolve your queries with you at your earliest convenience.


    Would you be kind enough to provide us with your Flow energy account number (Via Faceebook direct message: https://www.facebook.com/FlowEnergyUK, Twitter: https://twitter.com/FlowEnergy_Help or by contacting our Customer Services team via email or phone as we do not have a private message function on here) so we can look into this for you?


    We will endeavour to contact you back as soon as possible.


    If you have any questions, you can call us on: 0800 092 02 02

    Or email: help@flowenergy.uk.com

    We are open Monday to Friday 8:00am until 20:00pm

    Warm regards,




    The Flow team


    Okay, I've just found this thread, so here are my thoughts after a year+ with Flow.

    Initial switch was painless.

    Gas and electricity comes out of the (metaphorical) taps. No problems there.

    Having to read my meters every month is a pain, bordering on a killer for me as my electricity meter is tricky to read. They appear to want to behave like a smart meter company, but not actually invest in having anything to do with smart meters.

    Statements are slow to produce. You can submit a meter reading and it takes many, many days before anyone does anything at all with it.

    Direct Debits aren't revised often enough - my account is well over a month's payment in credit now, at the coldest time of the year, yet they're still happily taking the full whack from my account every month. That must help with the cashflow.

    Meter reading submission has limited feedback - as others have said, you submit them but they're not recorded immediately, so you have no idea if they've been eaten, lost, recorded, ignored, or used. See my comment above about what this then means for monthly statements, annual usage, DD revisions, or anything else.

    They're okay, and they gave me a decent deal on the MSE special tariff, but I wouldn't recommend them overall - too clunky, too much effort on the customer's part, too little benefit in return.

    EDIT

    Well, I've today seen that this month's statement has appeared - with estimated readings - despite giving them the readings the better part of a week or so ago. I would guess that "give us a meter reading at the end of the month" means "we have an exceptionally small window to use anything you send us, so be nice or we'll ignore you". Not really useful - again, a smart meter approach while relying on the customer to be the smart meter!
    Originally posted by Prof Yaffle
    Official Company Representative
    I am the official company representative of Flow Energy. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

94Posts Today

1,497Users online

Martin's Twitter