Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
Page 1
  • John 3:16
    • 6th Sep 11, 6:40 PM
    • 6th Sep 11, 6:40 PM
    Apart from the constant problem of tar build up in the chimney, I don't think you will be able to keep it alight?
    Is there no where you could store it?
    Even making a deal with someone and going half each on the timber?
    • A. Badger
    • By A. Badger 6th Sep 11, 9:26 PM
    • 5,265 Posts
    • 6,658 Thanks
    A. Badger
    • 6th Sep 11, 9:26 PM
    • 6th Sep 11, 9:26 PM
    I'm not an expert (Muckybutt will know the answer if he reads this) but I'd say be very careful. It's not just a question of soot, as tar and creosote-like substances are released by green wood and they condense. I'm not sure how well that residue can be cleaned away with brushes.
    • rustyboy21
    • By rustyboy21 7th Sep 11, 2:59 AM
    • 2,506 Posts
    • 2,400 Thanks
    rustyboy21
    • 7th Sep 11, 2:59 AM
    • 7th Sep 11, 2:59 AM
    There are a number of factors involved with burning non seasoned wood.

One is that it is damp, so will not stay lit constantly

The major factors though are that they contain the sap of the wood, Heat will make the resins in the wood come out, which is a tarry like substance. Not only is it corrosive to the stove itself , but it will also leave tarry like substances in your flue. Over a period of time, these will erode the lining of your flue and destroy the mortar leading to possible dangerous fumes, entering other rooms in your house, or even entering your neighbours houses.