PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Basic Recipes for Novice Cook

I wanted to pick the collective OS brain :D

I want to create a book of basic recipes for a friend who is a complete novice when it comes to cooking. She'd never even baked a cake before. I was thinking of including all the simple recipes we use instinctively that she wouldn't know for starters eg how to make a basic white sauce.

Now I've sat down to start it my mind has gone blank :rotfl:

So aside from knowing how to make a white/cheese sauce what else do you think it would be worth me including?
I have a gift for enraging people, but if I ever bore you it'll be with a knife :D Louise Brooks
All will be well in the end. If it's not well, it's not the end.
Be humble for you are made of earth. Be noble for you are made of stars

Comments

• hello Bitsy, lovely idea :)

How bout basic spag bol and a basic soup (leek and potato or veg maybe?)?

x

ps I don't know how to make white sauce! :o but then again I don't like it :rotfl:
    * Rainbow baby boy born 9th August 2016 *

* Slimming World follower (I breastfeed so get 6 hex's!) *
  • jolfc
    jolfc Posts: 446 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    shortcrust pastry, then they can make savoury pies, fruit pies quiches, sausage rolls loads of things.

savoury mince is good to then they can make shepherds pie, meat pie ( using the pastry, ;)) and buy yorkshire pudding to go with it or make dumplings which are a doddle. :)
  • Hi Bitsy - only me. Glad you are tackling one of your frogs - well done you!

What about a homemade mince - as that could be a basis for cottage pie and bolognaise sauce.