Re. DWP Online Test For AO

I sat an extremely difficult online test yesterday for an AO post with DWP. It was for the Pension Service. The test is the one where they give you 75 mins to answer 36 questions. Unfortunately, I got the bad news today that I did not pass.

What I want to know is this: is having to sit this test going to be necessary for even AA posts? If it is, then how on earth are we going to stand a reasonable chance of getting a job in the Civil Service anymore if we have to sit such a difficult test? It was really hard, and you really had to have a strong analytical mind to answer the questions adequately.

God, I'm so depressed. To think, I have had 25 years experience in the Civil Service, and now my attempts to get back in have been made almost impossible due to the introduction of these accursed tests!

Comments

• Gillyx
    Gillyx Posts: 6,847 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    My mum works for the civil service herself and she told me a very low percentage of people actually pass the tests, whether online or a test centre. It's basically then easier to do the interviews etc as there are less people to interview.

Also now your application makes up a good percentage of your chance of getting the job, something like 40% and your interview is 60% don't quote me on the figures though because I can't remember exactly.
    The frontier is never somewhere else. And no stockades can keep the midnight out.
  • Truegho
    Truegho Posts: 832 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Hi Gilly