Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
Page 1
    • zzzLazyDaisy
    • By zzzLazyDaisy 6th Mar 10, 7:27 AM
    • 12,134 Posts
    • 18,762 Thanks
    zzzLazyDaisy
    • 6th Mar 10, 7:27 AM
    • 6th Mar 10, 7:27 AM
    If a bank account is held in joint names, the money in the account automatically passes to the survivor when one of the account holders dies. It doesn't go through the will or intestacy, it just belongs to the remaining account holder.

Hope this helps
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
    • CLAPTON
    • By CLAPTON 6th Mar 10, 7:33 AM
    • 41,650 Posts
    • 30,691 Thanks
    CLAPTON
    • 6th Mar 10, 7:33 AM
    • 6th Mar 10, 7:33 AM
    joint a/cs become the property of the surviving person and so they can continue to use the a/c as normal.
    Although such a/cs are outside probate: for IHT purposed however, the HMRC will assume that half the balance is part of the estate and tax may be payable.
    • JamesU
    • By JamesU 6th Mar 10, 12:33 PM
    • 1,053 Posts
    • 834 Thanks
    JamesU
    • 6th Mar 10, 12:33 PM
    • 6th Mar 10, 12:33 PM
    If you have a joint current/bank account and other joint savings accounts, can you tell me what happens in the event of death of one of you.