Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    samnmalc
    Chicken stock to soup
    • 20th Mar 06, 12:51 PM
    Chicken stock to soup 20th Mar 06 at 12:51 PM
    Hi all , just bought two fresh chickens from Mr T , BOGOF.
    I have frozen one, but want to roast the other for tea.
    Ideally I would like to make a chicken soup with the left overs and to make some genuine chicken stock but I have never done this before so could anyone give me some pointers?
    Also, can I freeze the stock once made?
    I did look in the mega index ,but there is nothing about chicken soup that I could find..:confused:
    Thanks all,Sam
Page 1
    • Rikki
    • By Rikki 20th Mar 06, 12:56 PM
    • 20,648 Posts
    • 21,773 Thanks
    Rikki
    • 20th Mar 06, 12:56 PM
    • 20th Mar 06, 12:56 PM
    I just strip off all the meat and just boil the bones it in water to make a stock. I use a pressure cooker which is quickest.
    You can freeze the stock as it is and you can use it for different receipes or make it up as soup and freeze it.
    2 Coins Savings Club 2012 is 4 .............................NCFC member No: 00005.........

.................................................. ....................TCNC member No: 00008
    NPFM 21
  • samnmalc
    • 20th Mar 06, 1:06 PM
    • 20th Mar 06, 1:06 PM
    Thanks Rikki, how long do you boil it for?
    Do you completely cover the carcass in water?

Sorry for all the daft questions............:confused:
    • RacyRed
    • By RacyRed 20th Mar 06, 1:12 PM
    • 4,520 Posts
    • 9,254 Thanks
    RacyRed
    • 20th Mar 06, 1:12 PM