Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • mrbadexample
    • By mrbadexample 29th Jan 06, 9:36 PM
    • 10,561Posts
    • 15,223Thanks
    mrbadexample
    Cauliflower cheese, anyone?
    • 29th Jan 06, 9:36 PM
    Cauliflower cheese, anyone? 29th Jan 06 at 9:36 PM
    MBE has been cooking.

I'm not very good at judging quantities, and as a result I have enough cauliflower cheese to feed 6 large hungry rugby players.

I have eaten enough for two of them <burp>, and will put a portion in the fridge for tomorrow, but what am I going to do with the rest? Will it freeze? It's got broccoli and pasta and bacon in (this is the king of cauliflower cheeses ) if that makes any difference. Oh yeah, and I used Mexicana cheese (the one with the chillis in) for a bit of extra pep. The sauce is a bit on the runny side, if I'm honest, but the taste is to die for.

Oh yeah, while I think about it, can flour go off? The flour in my cupboard (new & unopened) was BBE Sept '04. I don't cook very often.
    If you lend someone a tenner and never see them again, it was probably worth it.
Page 1
  • Jay-Jay
    • 29th Jan 06, 9:42 PM
    • 29th Jan 06, 9:42 PM
    I find that cauli gets very waterlogged when frozen and you need to re-heat it and stir.... which breaks up the cauli so if you don't mind it going soggy and mushy then go for it I freeze it for my toddler so she doesn't mind... then again neither does my hubby so......

Flour can get weevils in it... have a close look, is it moving? If not then you'll probably be ok.... probably!!!!!