When do CSA payments stop

Can someone tell me exactly when a final payment is made with regards to CSA maintance?
My youngest son will be 19yrs old in September '08 and from my understanding payment should cease on the First Monday of the month in which the19th Birthday falls, he chose to go onto further education at the age of 16.

Comments

• Kimitatsu
    Kimitatsu Posts: 3,894 Forumite
    Hi

I have started a new thread for you as you should get more responses this way.

Someone will be along to help shortly :o
    Free/impartial debt advice: Consumer Credit Counselling Service (CCCS) | National Debtline | Find your local CAB
  • JohnCGibbs
    JohnCGibbs Posts: 35 Forumite
    Many thanks Kimatatsu being a newbie I'm not sure how all this works yet?
  • Donedoingdebt
    Donedoingdebt Posts: 1,196
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Debt-free and Proud!
    Forumite
    CSA liability will cease after his 19th birthday, not the first Monday of that month, although you will have to make a normal payment in October as child support is paid 1 month in arrears.
    The first Monday of the month rule applies to school/college courses that are completed before the child reaches 19.
    Donedoingdebt Lightbulb moment January 2000. Debt at highest approx £102,000. Debt now (October 2009 - absolutely fork all!!!):beer:
    CSA case closed on 02/09/10 :beer::beer:
  • JohnCGibbs
    Many thanks...I have writtain to the CSA regarding the subject, this was more than 10 days ago, and as expected, still not had a response or reply.

But as I understand it , my son would have finished his further education at the start of this school holiday, so the ffirst monday should then apply, then August should be the last payment...
  • Kimitatsu
    Kimitatsu Posts: 3,894 Forumite
    I think you will find that for school leavers your liability ends on the first Monday in September after he has left school.