So much debt :-(

Options
Hi

I'm a newbie here. Been reading some of the diaries and it's got me motivated to do one myself. I just hope it'll kick me into doing something about all my debt. I need to do a proper calculation to see how much I'm in but I know it's over the £10,000 mark :-(
I work full time but that doesn't stop me from overspending! I literally spent £55 on the white company website yesterday because there was a sale on and I don't even have the money for it just more on the credit card!
I'll do my calculations at lunch and see how much exactly I owe.
Any tips I would really appreciate :-)
Also my partner has no idea the debt I'm in. He thinks I have £2000 and I'm just way too scared to tell him.

Comments

• quintwins
    quintwins Posts: 5,179 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Your going to have to bit the bullet and tell your partner. first thing to do is a SOA so you know where you stand. Do you really need your white company order? you could refuse delivery if not and atleast then it's a step in the right direction. Before you buy anything ask yourself if you'd really need it, then wait a few days and ask yourself again. if the answer is yes and you have the money buy it...if not don't. It's only a bargain if you need it, if not it's an unneeded expense.

Well done on posting, that's the first step.
    DEC GC £463.67/£450
    EF- £110/COLOR]/£1000
  • Peabody_2
    Peabody_2 Posts: 276 Forumite
    Options
    Hi,

Welcome aboard! You'll be fine, I would suggest telling him though, best to get his support on your journey. It'll make it much easier in the long run!

I'm also an over spender, but I've given myself a weekly budget and I'm really trying to stick to it.

Good Luck!
    Total at 9th Feb 12 - £17,500 :eek: Now - £6,851.05
    Loan - £6022.05, [STRIKE]Card 1 - £3293.85,[/STRIKE] [STRIKE]Card 2 - £2287.04[/STRIKE], Sofa - £825.00
    Wedding Pot - £0.00 :o
  • GeorgianaCavendish
    Options