Paying into LGPS, considering AVCs but not sure

Options
Hi,

I've been paying into my LGPS for over 20 years, but I have another 23 to go before I retire (providing it doesn't go up again). I would like to top up my pension, so I went to a seminar at work about taking out AVCs with the Pru. Unfortunately for me, the seminar was in a small stuffy room straight after lunch, so there were times when I was struggling to stay awake, never mind keep up with what was going on.

Having done some research - some of it a bit confusing, I'm not sure if an AVC is the way to go. I realise that the value of it could go down before I retire, but that's the nature of all investments I guess.

I was planning on saving £100 per month over 23 years, which would give me an estimated lump sum of around 44K, but obviously there's tax to deduct if I wanted to take it all at once, which I'm not sure if I would want to do anyway.

I suppose my question is, does it seem like a good deal, or might there be other alternatives I could/should look into?

Thanks
Gin

Comments

• blue_eyes
    blue_eyes Posts: 289 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    A couple of things that may be of use:

As long as the total of the AVC is less 25% of the total value of the LGPS +any lump sum + AVC together, you can take the whole AVC tax free (I believe you multiply your pension by 20 to get the figure). This is under the current regulations, I can't say whether it would be the same in 23 years time. If it ever changes, the change might only affect new AVCs from that point forwards - who knows.

In order to get this, i think you DO need to take the whole AVC pot at the same time that you begin to take your pension.

The fund choices within your AVC would be limited to what your pension scheme has chosen to offer, as opposed to a SIPP where you could choose from many.
  • OldBeanz
    OldBeanz Posts: 1,401 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options