On universal credit - received a tesco loan and paid it all out same day - how will i be affected?

Hi all

I receive rouglhy £665 a month on UC - for me and the 2 children and childcare
(I'm a trainee teacher on little pay!)

I took out a new loan today to consolidate my debt, and will be better off each month as ive been able to pay off my existing loan and my credit card balances, saving £140 a month.

I received the payment today an hour ago and have paid the entire amount out already to clear the outstanding loan and credit cards.

I know if you have savings of more than £6000 you will lose you UC entitlement.

Anyone know how i'd be affected for the following month's payment?

Many thanks

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Posts: 15,696 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 30 November 2019 at 5:15PM
    It will make no difference. Had you kept the money in your account it would count as capital. However your UC entitlement is based on your situation on the last day of your assessment period so given the money has already gone out it will not be taken into account.
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Some rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • pmlindyloo
    pmlindyloo Posts: 13,049 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    The OP may be thinking about deprivation of capital.

If the money was used to pay off debts (which you say it was) then there is no deprivation of capital.

From Advice for Decision Makers:

H1796 People are not treated as having capital of which they have deprived themselves if
    1. it reduces or pays a debt owed by the person or

2. they purchase goods and services and that expenditure was reasonable in the circumstances of that person’s case1.
    1 UC Regs, reg 50(2)
  • Hey there!

Sorry but could you explain your post?