Loans Help

Hi

My brother has highlighted an issue which I was not aware of and I want to help him the best I can, as always, but on this occasion I'm not sure of the best way to approach / deal with the issue...

The following loans / credit cards are outstanding...any hints or tips on how to approach this and get the debt paid off asap? With the loans his deposable income atm is £140 a month, which I know isn't a lot but he's going to look at a possible second income. Should the loans be consolidated? If so, how does he do that? Sorry I'm a total novice when it comes to loans. Unfortunately I don't have any disposable cash to give him and we have no family we can ask for help from at this time.

Loan 1 £9,718 11.84% 21/12/2021
Loan 2 12,551 18.90% 08/08/2022
Loan 3 £4,899 28.80% 11/12/2022
Credit Card £531.99 49.95% compounded annual interest
Overdraft £250
Family Member £647 0%

Any help would be much appreciated, thank you

GF x

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    He needs to cut his costs and overpay as much as possible on the highest rate loan. Once that is gone, move onto the next highest.

The DFW board will give good advice on reducing costs to free up cash.

Consolidation rarely works and with that debt and those sub prime rates, he won't be able to borrow a further £30k from anyone.
  • foxy-stoat
    foxy-stoat Posts: 6,879 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Sell everything he can, down value the car, change life style, do the PPI reclaim thing and clear highest interest debts first.

ZX is correct, he will not get a loan to consolidate, it wont work any way. Only way he can reduce the interest would be balance transfer credit cards but I doubt he will be approved for any new borrowing with that level of debt.