Do I have to inform work of a second job?

Options
JackeeBoy
JackeeBoy Posts: 229 Forumite
I've been Money Tipped!
edited 13 January 2019 at 5:18PM in Employment, jobseeking & training
Hi all

I currently work in the insurance industry in a manager role. Recently applied for a weekend customer service role at another financial institution (not insurance). Assuming I get the role, do I have to inform my current company? Also, during the interview stage, what can I say about my current job situation? I have no problem telling them I am looking to make some extra money over the weekend but don't want them asking for references as I work for a small company as this will quickly get about.

Thanks for your help.

Update - Thanks all. I have checked my contract and is states that I can't take up employment with anyone else unless I get this agreed in writing.

Comments

• DCFC79
    DCFC79 Posts: 40,598 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    JackeeBoy wrote: »
    Hi all

I currently work in the insurance industry in a manager role. Recently applied for a weekend customer service role at another financial institution (not insurance). Assuming I get the role, do I have to inform my current company? Also, during the interview stage, what can I say about my current job situation? I have no problem telling them I am looking to make some extra money over the weekend but don't want them asking for references as I work for a small company as this will quickly get about.

Thanks for your help.

What does your contract say ?
  • theoretica
    theoretica Posts: 12,305 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options