Does Anyone Know What Is Best, I Need Help

Does anyonw know if it is best to make overpayments per month and reduce the term OR pay a lump sum at the end of each year?

will it make any difference?

:confused:
I am a Travel Agent

I work for Thomas Cook Group of Companies. My companies ATOL/ABTA numbers are J9500. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Travel Agent, so you need to take my word for it but Atol numbers can be checked on the Civil Aviation Authority website. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Travel Agent Code of Conduct.

Comments

• tomstickland
    tomstickland Posts: 19,538 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    It all depends on the relative interest rates. If you can save the money at a higher rate (after tax) than the mortgage then you're best off paying the lump sum. If you're saving rate is less than the mortgage then you're best off overpaying the mortgage.
    Happy chappy
  • karom
    karom Posts: 475 Forumite
    Mortgage-free Glee!
    My theory
    - Save for a year every month and make lump sum at the beginning of the year.

Practice:
    Well lump sum at the beginning of the year was ~40% of the overall sum allowed so I will be trying for every 2 month lump sum payments while still saving for next year.
    MFW on your mark
  • jobbingmusician
    jobbingmusician Posts: 20,343 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Intrepid Forum Explorer
    It also depends on how your mortgage works. It used to be the case (but this may have changed?) that some mortgage issuers would allow overpayments to accumulate , gaining the interest for themselves, and only apply them to the mortgage annually. I think this may have been forcibly stopped, but would check with your mortgage issuer. I do know that some banks calculate a daily basis, and some a monthly, so it might well be important when you make your payments.