Settlement Agreement - Redundancy Dispute

Hi all

I will try to keep this as factual as possible but I'm really looking for advice on what my next steps should be in the situation as I'm a complete newbie to redundancy!

I was recently informed that my role was at risk of redundancy due to an organisational restructure. I have worked for my employer for almost 5 years. The roles at risk were mine and one other, but there is only 1 person in each role impacted, so 2 of us in total placed at risk.

Following consultation meetings where I raised a number of issues and questions relating to the selection procedure, which I believe to have been unfair (I can provide more information on that if it's needed), none of my questions have been answered yet. I was asked to attend a meeting today at short notice and the result is that the organisation considers me to be in dispute with the company and have suggested a parting of ways via a settlement agreement.

They have provided me with a settlement figure, broken down into the individual line items, and asked me to take 10 days to consider it and seek legal advice. They have not yet provided me with a settlement agreement so I don't actually know what I'd be agreeing to right now.

Whilst I'm ok with considering a settlement as things stand, I don't consider the settlement amount to be acceptable. I intend to try and negotiate on that but I'm not sure whether I should be seeking the legal advice now, after negotiations are concluded and/or whether I should be asking for the agreement before I start negotiating or seeking legal advice.

I also have a holiday booked during the "consideration" period which limits my ability to seek the legal advice within the 10 day period. Is it 10 working days or 10 calendar days? Can I ask for an extension on that? They have said that they don't expect me to attend work during the 10 day period - should I be cancelling my holidays in that case or not?