Paperless payslips

Newbie here:)
Just a little question about paperless payslips.
My employer sent out a letter today saying that they will be switching to paperless payslips from the beginning of February, and we need to provide them with a valid email address. Now this is all well & good, but several of the shopfloor guys, don't have Internet access (one doesn't even own a phone), so the question was raised how do they get their payslips, (their useless manager said its not his problem, & suggested that they club together & buy a computer & printer to share :mad:)
No one from HR or payroll is available to comment, apparently they have been in meetings all day!
Was just after a bit of advice for the guys, as I thought it was the company's responsibility to ensure that the employee gets an accurate & on time pay slip, either electronically, post, or in hand.
Sorry for such a long post :)

Comments

• elsien
    elsien Posts: 32,684 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    I'd forget about the manager and wait to get a more sensible answer from HR. I think that for someone with no computer then as using a library (for example) isn't the most secure way of getting hold of the payslip so there would be a case for some individuals requesting a paper copy.
    They could simply tell them that they don't have an email address.
    All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

Pedant alert - it's could have, not could of.
  • timmy963
    timmy963 Posts: 122 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    You don’t really have a choice. An employer can choose to give you your payslips in either electronic or non-electronic form.

They did the same thing in my workplace and there was 1 person who didn’t use computers or have the know-how. However we were allowed to print them using the company printer if needed.
  • jamesperrett
    jamesperrett Posts: 1,009 Forumite