JSA C based - tax credits help

I have just completed my claim for contribution based JSA but have been declined because of lack of credits - the letter says that they have used the tax years ending 2003 and 2004 to judge the claim .

I phoned them up to find that my tax credits are ok for year ending 2004 but 2003 has not got enough - well i know that cos i was a student - however i know that my tax year ending april 2005 has enough as i have worked solid for 2 years. Does anyone know why they don't use the 2 most recent years for judging the claim - or if there is any way around getting the jsa claim valid!

They rub salt into the wounds when they tell you that things have just changed in that you used to only need to qualify in one of the years - which i do to now have changed it to both!

I won't qualify for income based jsa as my husband is working .

please help

Mrs T

Comments

• zeryx
    zeryx Posts: 64 Forumite
    Are you sure they are not saying you don't have enough National Insurance contributions? I was under the impression that was what gives you the entitlement for contribution based JSA and not your tax credits.
    Nice to save.
  • Mrs_T_5
    Mrs_T_5 Posts: 81 Forumite
    my mistake - sorry - thats what i meant that i haven't got enough contributions for the tax year ending 2003! but have more than enough for year ending 2004 and 2005

i am just so mad at the system - the first time without a job for 2 year and they still won't help me out !

what is the point in paying my NI in the first place!

Mrs T
  • zeryx
    zeryx Posts: 64 Forumite
    How very frustrating for you! ARe they not willing to give you Income Support instead?
    Nice to save.
  • Spendless
    Spendless Posts: 24,110
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Mrs_T wrote:
    my mistake - sorry - thats what i meant that i haven't got enough contributions for the tax year ending 2003! but have more than enough for year ending 2004 and 2005