Online CV disctribution services

First time MoneySaver, and it just so happens I'm a student!

Anyway, it's been a year since leaving university and I haven't landed a permanent job. I have a part-time job, luckily, but this and my previous jobs are apparently not enough. It doesn't help that I have a 3rd degree and am commercially inexperienced.
A number of online job search sites recommend paying for CV distribution services (such as Resume Rabbit or e-CVs.net), as lots of jobs go unadvertised. I was thinking of parting with some cash for one of them, but I wanted to get an outside opinion first. Anyone used these sorts of things?

Comments

• Fran
    Fran Posts: 11,281 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I haven't used cv services like this, but was wondering if you could find info on University and Post Grad forums about them?
    Torgwen.......... :) ...........
  • nemo183
    nemo183 Posts: 637 Forumite
    Well, if it doesn't cost that much - i.e. less than a fiver - why not?

On the other hand, there are probably many sites that would list your CV for free - maybe https://www.reed.co.uk , or https://www.jobserve.com .

However, I'd abandon either of these two methods and try a more cunning plan.

1) Put together a good, short, concise CV. Get some help from friends if you are getting stuck with this - they are often the best people to help, as they know you best. Don't pay anyone who offers a CV writing service - it's not worth it.

2) Write a list of all the people you know, your parents know, or your friends know who work in businesses or industries that you might like to work for.