Plan 1 and Plan 2 Student Loan. What should I do?

Hello,

I am 37 and have recently graduated from a degree in healthcare. I took out a Plan 2 student loan to make ends meet. The total loan stands at £6,995. However, in a previous life I studied an unrelated degree. I took a full student loan out on Plan 1 in 2010. This stands at £15,775.

I'm trying to figure out what to do in terms of repayment. The Plan 2 loan is at a much higher interest rate but as the threshold for repayment is also higher than the Plan 1 loan, I can't preferentially repay it. Repayments for Plan 1 will be calculated on my earnings between £18330 and £25000, and my earnings above £25000 will be used to calculate repayments for Plan 2.

Here are the Plan 2 interest rates according to Martin's guide:
- Earn under £25,000: Interest rate = RPI
- Earn over £45,000: Interest rate = RPI + 3%
- Earn from £25,000 to £45,000: It rises gradually from RPI to RPI + 3%. For example, earn midway, so £35,000, and your rate'll be RPI + 1.5%

Plan 1 interests rates stand at 1.5%.

I expect to be earning 25k pa over the next two years, and 30k+ thereafter. I will be classed as self employed, and have a LISA, Stocks and Shares ISA, and will be setting up a SIPP. Am I better off trying to repay, even though the majority will pay off onto my Plan 1 loan, or should I invest any spare money I have?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

Comments

• DrEskimo
    DrEskimo Posts: 2,347 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    What's your situation financially in other areas? Do you have a suitable emergency fund in an easy access savings account? Do you have any other debts, particularly high interest debts?