40,000 iva

It is my very first time posting so apologies if I am not doing this correctly, but does anyone else have recent experience of applying for an IVA of approx £40,000 ? I am terrified, any advice, experiences at all would be very much appreciated. What kind of repayment amount is generally acceptable, and are StepChange the best people to go through?
Thank You x

Comments

• DFS
    DFS Posts: 26
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Hi.
    I used Stepchange last year and they were my saviours. They helped me every step of the way. I was 36k in debt to 8 creditors but as the main creditor I owed to was a small loan company, they rejected their offer of me paying back £86 a month but stepchange dealt with it and we accepted a proposal of £154 a month for 6 years.

A small price to pay, for a stress-free future.

I recommend them highly.
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,717
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Ambassador
    bakersue wrote: »
    It is my very first time posting so apologies if I am not doing this correctly, but does anyone else have recent experience of applying for an IVA of approx £40,000 ? I am terrified, any advice, experiences at all would be very much appreciated. What kind of repayment amount is generally acceptable, and are StepChange the best people to go through?
    Thank You x

Stepchange can recommend an IP to use for an IVA yes.

Your monthly payment will depend on your disposable income, the creditors will be looking for the maximum return possible (don`t believe what you read about writing off a large % of your debt) its possible some of your debt will be written off, but again, it all depends on what you can pay towards the debts.

You will require 75% (by value of debt) of your creditors, to agree to it, in order for it to be passed.

Cant really say anymore unless you produce your budget.