Buying PC Parts on finance, yay or nay

ellyroo
ellyroo Posts: 50
Photogenic First Anniversary
Forumite
edited 6 May 2018 at 3:54PM in Gaming MoneySaving
So here is my thing

i'm a student, who might be moving into a dorm next year, and with it i want to build a computer do to my college work on, and having something to relax on and game

and ideally the system i wanna build would do that job great, but im curious, should or could i buy parts for it on like a finance deal like say

i wanna get a 8700K and maybe a GTX 1080 or GTX 1170 when it comes out, i plan to maybe do a thing where i get it on finance and pay like 50 quid a month over like the next year or so for each part or that

i've heard mixed things about finance, and i should only get it if i truly have the money for it , so i have came here to ask what youg uys may think

the finance in question is something like SCAN finance or paypal finance

i got the income monthly to cover it, i just wont have enough time between now and next term to save up all the money for the system

if you look up the 8700k overclocked bundle from scan you'll see what im planning on

(40 quid a month)

this is similar to what i was thinking

Comments

• Johnmcl7
    Johnmcl7 Posts: 2,816
    Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Forumite
    I'm not sure what your question about finance is, yes you'll get the items you want now but you're going to end paying for that privilege. The 16% starting point Scan show is hefty particularly as that's the headline rate and you may find the rate you get (if at all) is significantly higher. I always find it something of a contradiction that people can always afford loan repayments despite being higher than saving up yet don't have any money saved up.