Advice on breaching my contract

Hi there

I have been working for a company for past 9 years. I found a new job. My notice period is 8 weeks, but employer doesn't want to negotiate and let me go after 4 weeks. My new employer is also not willing to wait longer than 4 weeks. I am thinking about leaving after 4 weeks, after doing some researching I found out that my employer could sue me for breaching my contract. I would like to ask if anyone had any experience dealing with this, just worried if it comes to it and the employer sue me, I would end up paying lots of money. I work as an account assistant, therefore my position is not senior, however my manager told me that there is a big handover I need to give.
Any advice would be much appreciated
Many thanks :)

Comments

• getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament
    Forumite
    If your potential new employer is happy to insist you breach contract what else are they prepared to do once you work for them.

You also potentially have them knowing you are happy to bend the rules.
  • IanSt
    IanSt Posts: 366 Forumite
    edited 27 December 2017 at 7:11PM
    I'm not sure that was what Tat111 meant. I think they may mean that the new company is only willing to wait 4 weeks, not that they are telling them to leave before their notice period is served.

Was this 4 week deadline mentioned during the interview or did it only come to light once you were offered the job?

Have you got any holidays that you could use to reduce the 8 weeks period by? I assume because of the time of year that you've used them all up, but if by any chance you had some time that you were still owed then you could probably subtract them from the 8 week period.