Should I/Is it too late to setup ltd company?

Options
mrkat
mrkat Posts: 63 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
edited 2 October 2019 at 9:08AM in Small biz MoneySaving
My wife and I have been running a business since June 2018 and we were about to setup as a partnership (before the October 5th deadline for registering for self assessment). I'm wondering now if there's a different way to go about it as I've read that a limited company is much better than a partnership in terms of taxes. Can anyone tell me if this would even be an option for us or do you first have to register a ltd company before doing any trading?

A bit about us:
Around £12k in turnover for the 18/19 tax year
Around £27k Apr-Oct so far for this tax year
Both working full time on the business but no profit/wages yet (though expect to break even in a couple months)
Work from home office
Share a car which is used for business

We share everything, don't have any trust issues and have been focusing so much on growing the business that we've let this side of things slack, just knowing that we had this Oct 5th deadline to register the partnership.

We have a business bank account under the business name and my name (but not hers) and we both 'share' each others bank accounts/cards as if they were joint accounts but don't actually have a joint account anymore since N&P closed down and shut our joint account.

Any advice on where we should go from here would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    You do need the limited company to have been set up before you can trade through it. It's a separate legal entity so it's impossible to have traded through it before you incorporated it.

So, whatever you do, you ARE a sole trader/partnership by default at the moment and that will continue until you set up a limited company and formally transfer/sell the business/assets to it.