Calculating coupon savings?

Hi all.

I'm fairly new to couponing but I'm already addicted! I have a spreadsheet that I record them all on, but I'm not sure how to record items and savings if it was already reduced.

Say for example I had a manufacturing coupon for £5 for cat food (yes the very expensive stuff from Pets at a Home and the such) and usually it was £8.44 (see? expensive!) but i did a price comparison across stores and found it in a store that had a temporary in store price reduction to £6.22, then I used my voucher bringing it down to £1.22 (lucky aren't I?!). Would that mean I have saved £5 because that's the face value of the coupon, or would I have saved £7.22 because I've shopped around to maximise my voucher? Or even more complicated... I usually spend £2 on the same amount of cat food so would I only have a true saving of 78p?!

Thanks for your patience following all of my rambling there! :rotfl:
Only two people away from a threesome :grouphug:
[FONT=&quot][STRIKE](£22,131.38 debt hanging around my neck[/FONT])
Bankrupt, (14/9/12)
£300 away from debt free!! (16/6/14)[/STRIKE]
£2017 in 2017 = 0

Comments

• umami
    umami Posts: 794 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    You hadn't said whether your cat enjoyed the posh food!
    I would say you have given your cat a treat!
    I like your detailed research before using the voucher.
    Using my head I would say you saved 78p.
    But giving your cat a treat is worth it whatever!:rotfl:w
  • Random question but I'm just about to start trying to coupon and I wondered if you can let me know what's on your spreadsheet?? I love spreadsheets but just don't know where to start with one for this x
  • VikkiG1972
    VikkiG1972 Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited 26 July 2017 at 10:55AM
    I've really gotten into coupons recently (now addicted!) - you can save a fortune.