Newbie Advice on Investing in Shares

Hi, I have been contemplating putting some savings into shares for a few months now and think I have made my mind up to do so.

I have read up on certain advice but there is so much out there. Wonder if anyone can assist?

I have a fried who has invested for several years and he always bought shares through a Stock Broker. He says that although there are high fees involved that is better as you get the actual Share Certificate.

However I have read online that you can buy through an online company such as HL and the fees are much less.

Does anyone know what the best way of buying shares is and the advantages/disadvantages of each are? Do I still get Dividends if I buy through HL rather than a Broker?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Comments

• James145
    James145 Posts: 16 Forumite
    I used to use Degiro, as in my experience they are the cheapest and provide a good service.

However, if you are going to hold shares in an ISA/SIPP, most non-advised clients seem to use HL.

You will still receive the dividends if you invest through HL, but they will be held in your HL account until withdrawn. Degiro is a stockbroker, so you would also receive dividends in this case too.

HL and Degiro won't send you the share certificate, as they are online-only, but in my opinion share certificates are outdated now anyway. Also, as you alluded to, the fees are normally higher with share certs and they charge extortionate fees to replace a lose certificate.
    [FONT=&quot]No part of this post should be viewed as advice.[/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
  • eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,401
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    IMHO the best advice to newbie investors considering buying shares is: don't!