REWS - renewable energy

Hi Experts,

I am a newbie here and trying to find a way to invest small savings.

I have been seeing news/getting calls about renewable energy investment with fixed returns.
I am unable to use links but if you search for "rews GCI markets" you get a link which talks about investment opportunities and the returns it can generate.
Have anybody heard about this? any members here have invested in these? Any sort of opinion about the above would be of help.

Thanks,
-Senthil

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,938 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    My opinion is that anyone who even considers putting money into high-risk unregulated investments sold via cold calling has way more money than sense, at least initially (it may not take long to reverse the proportions....) :)
  • Wish I had eskbanker :) I have invested my savings in ISA and it returns are less than 1%. I was doing some searches on how to get better returns for ISA and ended up giving my number which resulted in calls. I have no idea about it and that is why asking experts help here to understand what is the risk and would it be worth it?
  • eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,938 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Forget this sort of 'opportunity' and step back to consider your financial position and where you want to be.

The general recommendations on here are typically along the lines of:
    • Start by paying off all debts (if any)
    • Build up an easily-accessible emergency rainy day pot of savings in cash deposit form, usually 3-6 months worth of outgoings, using regular savers or current accounts to optimise interest returns in current market conditions
    • Get onto the property ladder with assistance from Help To Buy or Lifetime ISAs if beneficial
    • Make sure you have adequate pension provision and that you're getting the most free money from your employer