Christmas Dinner Help!

Morning all,
It's my first time cooking a Christmas Dinner, I want it to be special of course tasty!
I'm looking for where you buy yoru food, what food you buy (brand, name etc)
Any cooking tips??

Any replies would be Hugely appreciated:j

Comments

• kazwookie
    kazwookie Posts: 13,810
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    How many are you cooking for?

Are any guests vegetarians or such like.?

For us minimum of fuss, normally 2 or 3 of us, small chicken, roast spuds, carrots, cauli, peas, parsnips, gravy, poss small sausages wrapped in bacon.

If we have room afterwards or late on in the day, cheese and biscuits or xmas pudding.
    General cost about £10, time about 2 to 2.5 hours.

I just cannot stand going round to relations who 'faff' around all day, spend a fortune ££, have loads of food left over, and then sit there and moan about it.
    Breast Cancer Now 2022 100 miles October 100 / 100miles
    Sun, Sea

2024 7/28 lbs to go.
  • shoei
    shoei Posts: 116
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    I'll tell you what I do. Not all of it is particularly MSE but I will highlight that where I can.

Christmas for me is bigger than a day so we have a big open house on Christmas Eve with all sorts of food,

Christmas Day is a quieter affair with just us and possibly inlaws.

We don't have turkey because a. I don't like it and I'm cooking b. I think it is expensive for what it is.

We have a rolled shoulder of pork which works out much cheaper and we have plenty of leftovers for sandwiches.

I buy this from the local farm shop, this could be bought cheaper elsewhere but I like to buy local, and to jazz it up I stuff in with homemade sausage meat with prunes. You could have any meat and jazz it up with a stuffing either on the side or inside.

I try to limit the amount of dishes or at least only do small amounts of each to reduce waste and not over face people with too much food.