Gas boiler money saving question

Hi MSE community been a while since I posted. Now to the details.

I have a Potterton Diplomat 82 boiler which is still working apart from now and again when I have to relight the pilot. I am toying with the idea of getting it fixed or a new A rated boiler.

I have a gas valve and thermocouple and have been quoted £80 to fit these spare parts which should solve the pilot problem as whoever fitted a thermocouple in the past fitted incorrect one as the thermocouple wire is loose in the gas valve socket due to wrong fixing on the thermocouple. So that is option 1.

I have also contacted Eon for an ECO grant for a new boiler where I would pay £240 towards the cost of a new boiler. I haven't had the Survey yet but not sure what boiler the installer would fit. I have been looking for similar replacements to my freestanding Potterton and all I can come up with is the Worcestor Bosch 30 cdi FS regular boiler, but that is quite expensive around £1000 + installation and I am not sure Eon would stump up that much cash to the installer.

I have also put out the feelers to 3 installers to quote how much a WB 30 cdi FS would be to fit but that was only tonight so await some contact from those and could save on an A rated boiler with my gas bill.

Looking for advice on which way to proceed. If the advice is the cheapest keep my G rated boiler and get a repair done that leaves me without a spare gas valve (usually part that develops a fault) or it could last another 30 years like this one has. Should I buy a spare gas valve (around £100) and still available as in the future they will be very difficult to get, if not pricey?

Your expert advice is welcome.:money:

Comments

• jk0
    jk0 Posts: 3,479 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    I would get existing boiler repaired and buy the spares. Modern ones are full of electronics which fail after ten years or so.
  • I would bite the bullet and replace the boiler..