Creating a joint bank account for household bills

Hi

Ive recently bought a house with my partner. We've been talking about having a joint account which we each pay into monthly. This account can then be used to pay council tax, water, electricty etc... and any surplus will accrue each month and can be used on maintenance costs.

How best to do this? I have a dormant Lloyds account I could resurrect. Would we use two debit cards or just one?

Im new to this so I would appreciate any suggestions, tips and things I should consider from people who have experience of this. (Im sure most couples have jint accounts they use for monthly bills )

Thanks

Comments

• J_B
    J_B Posts: 6,441 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    The 'man in the pub' has two daughters, he told me, one married and one engaged.

The married couple have individual accounts and a 'joint account for household bills'

The engaged couple just have one joint account - 'all thy worldly goods I thee share' and all that.

He tells me that the ones with the joint account are happier - food for thought??

:)
    PS - sorry I haven't answered your question ;)
  • dllive wrote: »
    How best to do this? I have a dormant Lloyds account I could resurrect. Would we use two debit cards or just one?

We have a Halifax (so LBG) joint account, we each have a debit card for that account. It's up to us whether we use them both or not (in reality we rarely use either as it's mostly used to pay regular bills by DD).
  • We took out a new joint account for bills (each contributing an equal amount each month) and never use a debit card as the bills are all paid by direct debit or standing order. We occasionally have a tradesman in for a maintenance issue and even this is paid directly out of the joint account, so again no need for a debit card. If we did have a debit card I'm sure one would suffice.