Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Eyes1000
    • By Eyes1000 1st Sep 19, 7:20 PM
    • 12Posts
    • 3Thanks
    Eyes1000
    Help, heating confusion!
    • 1st Sep 19, 7:20 PM
    Help, heating confusion! 1st Sep 19 at 7:20 PM
    Hi there,
    Iím a complete newbie to writing on the forum (but have read a lot of really useful threads over the years).

Iím buying a fairly small 1 bedroom cottage (middle of three cottages in a row).

There is no gas in the village and currently the cottage has Dimplex storage heaters in the living room and bedroom, an electric radiator in the kirchen and a radiator towel warmer thing in the bathroom. It has an immersion tank for water and is double glazed.

To work out if I can basically leave things as they are (maybe add in a pellet stove to the living room for cosiness in the winter) or whether I should make some or lots of changes, I have researched the storage heaters, lpg, heat pumps, solar panels, biomass pellet stoves and boilers, electric combi boilers etc and I am totally lost.

Obviously there are pros and cons to everything plus there are lots of vastly different opinions out there (some say storage fine, others say its awful and so on - with every option)

From what Iíve read, the cottage is too small for a heat pump - and Iím not sure I can afford to have a biomass boiler and radiator system as well as a stove...plus I am not sure whether it would be overkill for one person....the Renewable Heating Incentive appeals though...