Immediatelt Vesting Pensions

Options
I am completely new to this - so I really hope I am asking this question in the right way!

I have heard about "Immediately Vesting Pensions" as a way for over 50's to put the maximum annual contribution into a stakeholder pension (by getting the government to top it up to £3,600), then immediately 'vesting' this pension - giving you a 25% tax free lump sum, and an annuity for the rest of your life.

I wonder if anyone out there has done this or has views on it as a strategy.

Many thanks.

Comments

• Peter-Pan_5
    Peter-Pan_5 Posts: 380 Forumite
    Options
    I believe Standard Life do it,if you look in their web-site.
    A wise man changes his mind, a fool never will.
    El sabio muda el consejo, el necio no.
  • System
    System Posts: 178,093 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Thanks for the info. Terry - I'll have a look.
  • hansi
    hansi Posts: 3,001 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Hi Anne, yes I have done one of there for my wife. I think it's a good idea, because althought you have to leave a substantial amount in the pension to cover your payments, you do get the 25% tax free lump sum immediately. My wife has has this going for about three years now and the fixed rate interest it pays every year works out at about 12% which is pretty good. When I took it out there was a loophole stating that if she died, the payments would revert to me, but that avenue has now been cancelled. Once you die, your money's gone. So you have to make sure that you live long enough to make it pay. ;D Take professional advice first but I reckon it's a good deal.
  • klondyke
    klondyke Posts: 463 Forumite
    Options
    You may get a better deal going through a discount broker, than buying direct. Mr klondyke used Hargreaves Lansdowne for a Standard Life special deal, though there may be better deals now from other brokers.
  • hansi
    hansi Posts: 3,001 Forumite