A whole new world, for now

So, here’s the new thread I’ve been promising myself for a few months. My old one, that served me so well, is http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=4855808

A potted history of me. I’m 49, live in NI with OH, DD and dog and DS is London based.
Have been in debt for a lot of my life and came here post personal debt but with the aim to clear my mortgage. I believe DFD to be the right place for me as a lot of what’s outstanding on the mortgage related to consolidation of other debts. The rates were lower and I just didn’t consider the payback period.
Having been a wage slave for some 30 years, I recently jacked in my well paid and secure job for a number of reasons. While I love what I do, I hated the environment in which I did it. I regularly travelled 6 hours a day, on my own time and had to ask others to do likewise. That was the downside about caring for my clients. While I continued, and got others, to deliver at the expense of my home life, my health and my finances, the firm continued to let me. I decided that I’d sooner have some self respect than stay there. We also had an unexpected and untimely family bereavement last year which sparked the whole “life’s too short” train of thought. The downside is this is the first time since I was 17 that I don’t have an income and it’s a big adjustment.
To address this, I’ve decided to go the self employed route, for now (hence the title). One problem though is timing. We have booked a holiday in May for OH’s big birthday and I’ve decided that is set in stone. We will be travelling half way round the world for two weeks to initially see pandas and then the delights of Tokyo. We’ve only been together just over 10 years so this is really our first landmark birthday to be properly celebrated, we were still bedding in last big date.