Cable or Fibre? What is the difference???

Options
HI, I am no techie by any stretch of the imagination but am trying to see the wood through the trees on broadband provision. My issue is I am in a bit of a blackspot for telephone broadband provision so switched to Virgin about 6 years ago when it was one of the few providing proper what i call cable provision. I had phone line provision from BT, SKY, Talk Talk and all were extremely patchy and as i have 2 teenage sons needed a reliable supply.
i have just been on to the Plusnet site where is states unlimited FIBRE broadband which i assumed was cable but on the chat support she stated it was still via the phone line.
Q1 - What is the alternative for Virgin in blackspots such as mine
Q2 - Has phone line provision improved in the last 6 years and worth trying again (I doubt this but have no clue really)
Q3 - can someone explain in very lay man's terms what the jargon around this means - Fibre/cable/superfast

Many thanks in advance for reading my first ever post on a forum!

Comments

• sal_III
    sal_III Posts: 1,953 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    1 - Either another provider with independent network similar to Virgin (Hyperoptic is one example) that is available in your area or mobile BB. The latter usually comes with data caps, which might be problematic with two teenagers, but if they do mostly streaming, some providers exclude it from the data, so might be viable.

2 - The technology hasn't changed, the only improvement might have come if the local infrastructure (cables, exchanges etc.) has improved and I doubt anyone here would know if it did or didn't.