Excellent credit score, likelihood, earnings...yet can't get a loan

hiohaa
hiohaa Posts: 44 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
My net income is £2636 a month. I have savings of £4k.
My monthly outgoings are £1200 including rent at £600.
I was employed from 2009-2012 earning 30k.
Then employed from 2014-2016 earning 45k.
Went back to uni, did a masters. Been at my new job 6 months, earning 49k.

I have no debts. No dependents, no loans. No nothing. I've been using a santander credit card since 2014 which i always paid off in full every month via direct debit without fail. Never been in debt since i graduated back in 2009.
At the moment there's a balance of 3k on it out of 7k, because i bought a decent tv last month.

My credit history is flawless, my credit score via experian report + the moneysavingexpert club thing all checked out - scores of 970, loan eligibility all 90%+ for 3% loans. All the soft searches came back good.

I've just tried applying for loans today, for £24,500, for a car purchase.
Most of them came back with unable to provide the loan. The best rate i got was from the post office at 7.9%.

I just don't understand it. What do you have to do to be eligible for a 3% loan these days??

Comments

• Pixie5740
    Pixie5740 Posts: 14,515 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    hiohaa wrote: »
    My net income is £2636 a month. I have savings of £4k.
    My monthly outgoings are £1200 including rent at £600.
    I was employed from 2009-2012 earning 30k.
    Then employed from 2014-2016 earning 45k.
    Went back to uni, did a masters. Been at my new job 6 months, earning 49k.

I have no debts. No dependents, no loans. No nothing. I've been using a santander credit card since 2014 which i always paid off in full every month via direct debit without fail. Never been in debt since i graduated back in 2009.
    At the moment there's a balance of 3k on it out of 7k, because i bought a decent tv last month.