Installing log burner and the Party Wall Act

Hi,

We are in the final stages of purchasing a semi-detached house. We are looking at getting a log burner installed soon after moving in. The chimney we are going to install it in rests against the shared wall and there is a shared chimney stack. Assuming it just needs the flue installing and fireplace opened up a bit more (it currently has a very small opening), do we need to go down the route of sending our neighbour a party wall notice?

Many thanks

Comments

• 5t3ve
    5t3ve Posts: 51 Forumite
    I'm no expert, but I'd be amazed if you needed to serve a notice. This wouldn't be a structural alteration.
  • rwcwilson
    rwcwilson Posts: 45 Forumite
    Cool, we didn't think it would but it is all new to us and when I was doing some research online one installer mentioned it on his website, which threw me. Perhaps, they stated that in case the installation needed significant work...
  • Lacuna
    Lacuna Posts: 8 Forumite
    The Party Wall etc. Act would only apply if you were either cutting in to a party wall s2(2)(f) or cutting a chimney breast away from the party wall s2(2)(g). The latter does not apply in your case. There is no consensus between party wall surveyors as to whether a chimney breast should be considered as 'party' given it's physical attachment to the wall. One view is that s2(2)(g) identifies it as a separate entity to the party wall, given it can be cut away from it, so s2(2)(f) does not apply. Other surveyors will disagree.