IVA - Mature student - advice?

Hi,

Head is all over and hoping to get a little advice.

I'm a mid-20s postgraduate student and work anything from 20 - above full time hours a week on a 0 hour type contract. My very variable income and modest salary has been a big issue on top of other things (currently looking for a perm job with fixed hours) and my total debts are less than 20K inc ODs, credit cards and a personal loan (taken out 2 years ago to consolidate debt). My plan was to try and boost credit rating enough to balance transfer debts to a better deal and then really hammer it once I was on a proper FT salary.

I've been looking into IVAs for about 6 months but what put me off was the public register and the fact it knocks your credit rating for 5 years or so.

I've come to realise I can't go on as I am. It's having a significant effect on my mental health and I need to get things sorted and feel an IVA is my best option having looked through alternatives.

I've been on StepChange and they advised IVA also. My main worry is not getting accepted, even though I know most do and the implications of this in the near future. As I'm retraining, alot of jobs require travel so I know driving is going to be essential at some point. I wouldn't want an amazing car, just something half decent that's not dropping to bits to get me from A to B but worried about getting finance (I know you need approval to get more than 500 credit).

Would love to hear from anyone who's had an IVA, especially those who like myself are pg students.

Thanks

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,848 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Hi,

Do you own a house or have significant assets ?

Usually an IVA is an alternative to bankruptcy for a homeowner, or if you have significant debt and bankruptcy is not an option for you.

I had one, it’s six long years of hard slog, and very tight budgeting, not recommended unless absolutely nessessary.