Portfolio Fund Assistance

Hi all,

I need some portfolio fund assistance please. I have 45K cash in IWeb left to buy funds with to form my portfolio with my existing holdings as follows:

10K Fundsmith
10K VLS80
5K Legg Mason IF Japan

I'm trying to not split it between that many funds to keep costs to the absolute minimum.

I've had suggestions before of types of things I need to look at to diversify and spread risk but I really need actual fund name suggestions as I'm no expert!

I'd like a split of active/passive ideally too and i'm in this for the medium to long term (all being well!)

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Prism
    Prism Posts: 3,797 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Those are all good funds IMO. With the 45K I would add to Fundsmith and VLS80. Legg Mason IF Japan is great too but you probably don't need much more of it. The only other things you are missing is a smaller companies fund and/or an EM fund if you fancy a bit more risk. I can tell you which ones I have so you can research them yourself

Baillie Gifford Global Discovery - overlaps a tiny bit with Legg Mason Japan but shouldnt be a problem
    Fundsmith FEET - one of the sustainable Stewart funds might be an alternative but many of them are soft closed (they have an entrance fee of 4%)
    Baillie Gifford Greater China - bit risky I reckon but huge gains for the moment
    Jupiter India
  • Alexland
    Alexland Posts: 9,653 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    edited 9 January 2018 at 8:37PM
    According to my data Fundsmith has a P/E of 27 - the money has already been made on that fund, surely you cannot expect it to continue?

VLS80 is great but given market conditions it might be time to slightly pull back on equity exposure? How about HSBC Global Strategy Balanced fund?

Or 50:50 VLS60 and 80?