Mobile phone as a self employed business expense

Options
Hi

I am a sole trader and operate as a dog boarder, day carer and walker from my home.

At the moment I am on a £20 a month sim only mobile plan. However, I really need a new phone as mine has had it and I'm wondering whether I can put it down as a business expense.

My mobile does form a huge part of my business. Although most of my calls are incoming and phone providers no longer give itemised bills anyway. I use mine for apps like Whatsapp, messenger, Instagram and Facebook as well as sending an insane amount of texts. I send pictures and videos to my dog 'parents' every day and all of my business is gained using my phone. So, although my bill isn't that large, the hardware itself is used a lot in my business.

The trouble is, how do I prove that? Handsets are expensive and I don't want to take on a lengthy and overpriced contract to get one as I don't use all of my allowances as it is. If I buy a handset for say - £400, would it be reasonable to put half of that down as a business expense?

Comments

• polymaff
    polymaff Posts: 3,904 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Just apply the "wholly and exclusively used in the business" to whatever fraction of the costs you think that you could justify. £400 for a handset is a bit much when you could get a reasonable camera-handset for less than £50 :)
  • Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    If you use it half for business, half for private, then, yes, half is a reasonable amount to claim as an expense.
  • tebthereb
    tebthereb Posts: 162 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options