DVLA Medical Terrible Service Very Slow

Rosie_Flowers
Rosie_Flowers Posts: 5 Forumite
edited 15 January 2014 at 2:51PM in Disability money matters
Sorry but I also posted this in the Motoring section. I didn't realise this area existed and this may be more relevant here:

I was a driver until some health problems and then when I notified the DVLA my licence was revoked. I decided to reapply for my licence. It seems to be taking an exceptionally long time given that the revoking was a very quick process in which I was ordered by the DVLA to act immediately under the threats of a £1,000 fine!

The DVLA have had medical notes back from my medical people but sent a letter saying it will now take up to 12 weeks which seems a long time.

I am interested to know if anyone else is in this situation or if I am some kind of "special case" that is taking a long time. It seems a very lengthy process for what really seems to be quite a simple box ticking and form filling exercise.

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,014 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    It won't be any comfort, but this isn't a new problem ...

I had this years ago, although it didn't help that my consultant consistently failed to respond to the letters the DVLA were sending him.

I hadn't had my licence revoked, but I was in a category of 'people who should not drive'. Eventually I had a conversation which went along the lines of 'I can't say that it's OK for you to drive, because I am not medically qualified, but I can't see any reason why we'd say it's not OK for you to drive in the paperwork I have in front of me. If you can get your GP to say that it's OK for you to drive, then it's OK for you to drive.'

Also FIL has to renew his licence at regular intervals. It takes forever, and they keep saying he CAN drive, whereas MIL wishes they would tell him to stop!
    Signature removed for peace of mind