SIPP, Hargreaves Lansdown and Funds

Hello,

I'm considering starting a pension as I've gone several years without one and really need to get going.

I'm considering a SIPP with Hargreaves Lansdown. I don't have a lot of experience with buying funds, though I do hold some in an ISA that I bought 5 years ago and I have bought/sold shares before. So I'm not a complete novice, but I'm far from expert. However, I'd like to have control of my pension and try to get the best from it by investing in a good spread of funds and I think a SIPP could be right for me.

My earnings over the last couple of years are very high and I'm looking to invest maybe 20-30k as a lump sum to get things going and then maybe 1-2k per month depending on how business goes.

So, that's some background info and now for the questions:

1) How good is HL for managing a pension? I've heard that they're cheap but I don't know how easy it is to manage/monitor a pension from their site.

2) I intend on putting a lump sum in to get it in there, but what I might want to do is spread the investing of that over a year. The HL site appears to allow you to keep cash in a pension - is that right? And if so, do you pay tax on the interest, as they quote gross and net interest rates? And is it easy to then buy or add to funds?

3) What spread of investments do you recommend, given that I'm 20 years from the earliest I'll be able to retire so can go for more of a growth portfolio? Should I also have gilts, bonds, cash, etc? At the moment I don't know anything really about gilts/bonds so any info on the advantages/disadvantages of them in a SIPP would be gratefully received.

That's it for the moment!

Comments

• cheerfulcat
    cheerfulcat Posts: 3,334
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Hello, Wibble,

I've had a SIPP with Hargreaves Lansdown for a few years now so I'll have a go at answering your questions