In catch 22, need help or advice

Options
Hi everyone,

This is my first post so please move if in the wrong place.

I really need some help and/or advice.

Firstly, please allow me a few mins to introduce myself and explain my current situation. I've made some poor financial choices over the last couple of years which I'm attempting to resolve now. I work in IT and I take home a good wage (currently £50k p/a due to increase to £55k in the next 12 months and potentially towards £60k in 2 years).

Over the last few years I've been on a much lower income ranging from £25k - £30 and unfortunately during this time I lived a little beyond my means and made some bad decisions. I found myself in a bit of debt and thought that a consolidation loan would help me, unfortunately due to my inexperience and catch 22 situation with credit usage and my credit report (poor) I was unable to find a lender with good rates and had to settle for a sub prime provider. I didn't learn from my lesson and soon found myself in trouble again and had to consolidate with another sub prime lender. This has left me paying out around £1200 p/m in loan payments, most of which is interest as the rates are between 40% and 70% (Everyday Loans & 118 Money).

As I'm now on a good income I can afford these repayments but as you can imagine it's very frustrating paying so much interest each month and not really seeing my overall balance affected.

In my mind I can be debt free in less than 2 years paying less than I am now if only I could find a lender willing to give me a good rate. At my current rate I will end up paying back around £50k over the next 5 years on a balance of £20k, it's insane! I could put a nice deposit down on a house for that amount.