car allowance

Options
Can anyone give me any info on how to work out my self assessment for car allowance , pleeease !

I receive a monthly car allowance which is taxed in my salary and I also have a company fuel card however the car is my own, I believe you have to work it out depending on your mileage/ engine size ??? ??

This is my first time filling my own self assesment and yet on the telly he says it doesnt have to be taxing :-/ :-/
I like soap more than soup ??

Comments

• Unbelievable_2
    Options
    Because your car allowance is taxed through PAYE it will be included in the income and tax deducted figures from your P60 so you don't have to worry about that bit.

With regards to your fuel card - presumably you use the card to buy fuel for both business and private use? If so then your company should include the value of the fuel you have used on your P11D which you enter on your Tax Return under Benefits and Expenses (either box 1.13 or 1.23 depending on how your company describes the fuel payment. You should then have kept a record of all business mileage completed in the tax year. You can then use the Approved mileage rates available from https://www.inlandrevenue.gov.uk/rates/travel.htm to calculate how much the value of your business mileage was and you enter that in box 1.32.

That way you end up paying tax only on the fuel you used for private purposes.

Clear as mud? :-/

Sorry, cloud-dog is a faster typist than I am! There's your answer. Good luck ;D
  • MJSW
    MJSW Posts: 171 Forumite
    Options
    Cloud-dog, you can no longer reclaim interest on the loan used to purchase the car. This was abolished from 6 April 2002. :(
  • cloud_dog
    cloud_dog Posts: 6,044 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Cloud-dog, you can no longer reclaim interest on the loan used to purchase the car. This was abolished from 6 April 2002.  :(

MJSW