Paying Interest on Cash Withdrawl on 0% CC

Hello!

I'm kinda new to credit cards and have got a 0% balance transfer card with Halifax to clear my old credit card.
I recently had to draw £900 off my credit card to pay for a car. I didn't realize this would mean I would have to pay interest on it (yes I'm stupid for not realizing or reading this). So I am currently paying interest on £900 but I have £2900 on the card. How do they work out when I have finished paying off the £900? Is it the first £900 off or the last or a percentage?

TIA
C xx
Read my diaryHere :)

Comments

• ndf9876
    ndf9876 Posts: 404
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Forumite
    The order of payments will be specified on your statement, but typically the part of the balance that attracts the highest interest rate will be repaid first. There are some card providers (e.g. MBNA) that do things a little differently, but in this case I think it's clear.

So in essence, the first £900 you pay off the card will go towards clearing the cash advance (plus interest), with the 0% balance transfer remaining untouched.
  • ndf9876 wrote: »
    The order of payments will be specified on your statement, but typically the part of the balance that attracts the highest interest rate will be repaid first. There are some card providers (e.g. MBNA) that do things a little differently, but in this case I think it's clear.

So in essence, the first £900 you pay off the card will go towards clearing the cash advance (plus interest), with the 0% balance transfer remaining untouched.

Thank you!!! :D
  • OceanSound
    OceanSound Posts: 1,482
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Forumite
    edited 18 October 2018 at 5:21AM