PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

Online Estate Agents

Hey everyone. I am a citizen and resident of the United States and I've inherited a house in England. I would like to sell it as I am just finished college, need the money and I lack the appetite for turning it into a rental.

My main question is about online estate agents. What is the deal? If I use one, am I going to lose money overall from the sale that would outweigh the savings? That's my main concern. The fees for selling seem like it would cost £3500 / $4500, while online agents are about £1000/$1200. This is a huge difference for me. What is the catch?

I've been over it with my lawyer and I'm clear on what the deal is with estate / inheritance tax that is going to come from the UK side, but I am not 100% about the fees for selling over there, and he couldn't help me too much. Doing research, online estate agents are cheaper, but I don't know if I can trust their claims

Also, will I be able to use their services from out of the country? I know there are probably not many people in my situation, but any help would be much appreciated. :beer:

Comments

• Finchy2018
    Finchy2018 Posts: 508 Forumite