Which Laptop??

BOBBIs_MUMMY
BOBBIs_MUMMY Posts: 850 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
edited 15 July 2019 at 8:17PM in Techie Stuff
The 100 Dollar question!!

Our HP Laptop is nearing it's end of life and now looking to replace it. Current configuration is i3-3100m CPU@2.40GHZ with an 8GB Ram (I am by no means an expert in all of the jargon simply copied from the laptop!!)

We are looking for another HP (Possibly Dell ) laptop to replace this one. Portability is not an issue as it's used as our main computer so won't be travelling about with us. Looking for a 15.6 screen with 1920 x 1080 resolution. We like to be able to have many tabs open at a time to multi task between screens (our current laptop struggling) we also like to store many photos on the laptop though we do have an external hard drive also so could reduce the amount we hold on the actual laptop. We don't use it for gaming at all and watch the odd you tube clip we don't use it for streaming movies.

Like I said I am by no means an expert in what to look for bar the above..................open to any suggestions you may all be able to offer, I appreciate it's sometimes down to personal choice but currently looking through websites seems like a minefield!

Many thanks

Comments

• J_B
    J_B Posts: 6,433 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    I'm sure that someone will be along in a minute with more knowledge than me.
    First query will be the full make/model/service tag?

You will then probably be advised to purchase a new SSD for your existing machine and then after several worrying days you will be staggered that your old PC is now working really quickly for about 50 quid rather than 500!

:)
  • Neil_Jones
    Neil_Jones Posts: 8,911 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    The i3-3100 is an Ivy Bridge processor that was first released in 2012.