Should I pay off my 1998-2005 era student loan?

Slightly unusual situation here.... I live abroad in the US, permanently most likely. I studied as a mature student and am now 51 years old. Due to postgrad study and various life circumstances, my income has been consistently below the threshold, so I have made zero repayments and owe around £17,000. I still have UK bank accounts, including savings making 1.5% interest.

Here are the reasons I'm thinking of repaying the loan in full, in one lump sum:

1. With the SLC interest rate increase to 1.75%, my student loan is no longer useful as a loan for investment purposes. Since my savings account only makes 1.5%, I'm effectively "losing" .25%. In fact, I actually have the full loan amount in a savings account making only 0.50% (because my main savings account has the maximum insured £85k from my UK house sale). So in a sense, that £17k in the other account is "losing" 1.25%. Living abroad, I am not eligible to open any new UK savings accounts that might have better rates..

2. Because of the low GBP/USD exchange rate, it doesn't seem to make sense to exchange the money to my local currency - especially since savings rates are about the same here.

3. Though still uncertain, it's very possible that I'll start making over the income threshold beginning this year or next - possibly a great deal more - at which point I'll have to start repayments anyway (possibly quite high ones).

4. Given the rules of the 1998-2005 system, my loan will not be written off for another 14 years, if I understand correctly. Since I don't expect to have such a low income for all that time, that is probably not much of a possibility.

So am I missing anything? Any compelling reason not to pay it off and just be done with it? Thanks in advance for any comments and perspectives...

Comments

• Cortiz
    Cortiz Posts: 13 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Wow, almost 400 views and no opinions?
  • Mogley