bitbybit's road to freedom

Options
Hi all,

Welcome to my shiney new diary. I am a 52 year old nurse with a DH and 4 children all over 18. DD, the youngest is at uni and two of the 3 DS's are living at home for various reasons.

I have been watching you all over the years beavering away at clearing your mortgage. I have been following your strategies, but never had the courage to post my own diary. Now I am three years from retirement and I have a mortgage that I can finish in three years if I work at it.

I have two targets really. First is to pay of what is left of my mortgage. I am lucky. I am on husband no 2. When we met I had my own house whiich I sold at a loss in the late '90s. He still had a house so he rented it out and I bought a 3 bedroomed detached for us and the kids for £55000. it was an enormous sum at the time. Over the years we have extended it along with the mortgage. At it's highest it was £75000. I carried on just paying off the basic mortgage until I had a light bulb moment.

About 5 years ago I looked at my life and decided the thing I really wanted to do and never had the chance was to travel.I started looking around at how to pay for it. At this point I didn't even have emergency savings, My husband did but since the first husband I have been fiercely independent financially. Anyway, a quick search of the web directed me to good old MSE and eventually I found the forums. I had no idea I could overpay. I had no idea about savings.

Well all that changed. I have 6 months of wages in the bank, loads of regular savers and I am a bank account tart. I have been overpaying for five years and knocked £25000 or so off the mortgage, mostly with my money and the odd boost from my husband; it took him until last year to get on board.

We had hoped to travel from September 2019 for a year out but our plans were interrupted by treatment for cancer and we decided we would wait. You have no idea how much the savings were a comfort blanket.