Investment Suggestions

I'm looking for suggestions on how best to invest the following.

I have an occupational pension from an old job I left in 2012, which stands at about £30k. I'm looking to consolidate this into a new pension wrapper and make a one off contribution of £40k to give the pot a boost, so £70k in total. I intend to make regular contributions going forward.

I also have £60k in a Cash ISA, that I am looking to move to an S&S ISA. This will be left invested long term and I intend to contribute the full £20k ISA allowance each year going forward.

I'd describe my risk tolerance as medium and although I consider myself financial savvy I have little to no experience investing in an S&S environment, so would probably be looking at mixed asset funds as opposed to trying to build a portfolio myself.

Comments

• ChopperST
    ChopperST Posts: 1,257 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Timescales would be useful. Are you currently employed and paying into an occupational pension? If you are you wouldn't be able to pay any more than £40k into the SIPP unless you have carry over from previous years.
  • ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 9,042 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    And that £40k is gross, £32k from you and £8k from HMRC
  • Speedbird676
    Speedbird676 Posts: 296 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    I am 37, so the pension would be invested for at least 21 years. Likewise, I don't see any need to touch the ISA in those timescales.

I am self employed so not currently paying into any pensions, hence the plan to "top up" with a lump sum and then start contributing regularly going forward.
  • Speedbird676
    ColdIron wrote: »
    And that £40k is gross, £32k from you and £8k from HMRC

The contribution will be made from my limited company.
  • ChopperST
    ChopperST Posts: 1,257 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post